Joint Rape Crisis Centres submission on Online Safety Code

31 January 2024

2023 09 Rape Crisis Centres submission on the Online Safety Code
PDF 269.25k   |   Download Now

A joint submission by 9 RCCs in response to a consultation from Coimisiun na Meain:

  1. Athlone Midland Rape Crisis Centre;
  2. Dublin Rape Crisis Centre;
  3. Galway Rape Crisis Centre;
  4. KASA Kilkenny;
  5. Sexual Violence Cork;
  6. Sligo Rape Crisis Centre;
  7. Tipperary Rape Crisis Centre;
  8. Tullamore Rape Crisis Centre; and
  9. Wexford Rape Crisis.

As frontline service providers, we work with and support people who have been directly affected by sexual violence including online abuse. Through that work, we see the often life-long consequences of the trauma and harm caused by sexual violence of all kinds. We also know from our experience that often this harm is because of digital technology that is used to harass and humiliate. 

This submission is informed by the experiences of those accessing our services who are victims of sexual violence. It follows the format of the consultation document framed in 22 questions.